Not digging Diigo………..

Posted: June 1, 2012 in Diigo
Tags: , ,

If you are like me, you never heard of Diigo before.   Diigo is a social bookmarking website which allows users to bookmark and tag web-pages. Additionally, it allows users to highlight any part of a webpage and attach sticky notes to specific highlights or to a whole page. These annotations can be kept private, shared with a group within Diigo or a special link forwarded to someone else. The name “Diigo” is an acronym from “Digest of Internet Information, Groups and Other stuff.

Now that I know what Diigo is and I have had time to play around a bit with it I have some appreciation for this social media tool, but it is not a tool that I will move forward with after this week in class.  Here is a great link to get you started on Diigo: http://dwcblog.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/diigo-workshop.pdf

The positives:

  • It is an easy way to find people that have similar interests to you and immediately have a library of articles pertaining to a particular topic.
  • Tags make it extremely easy to sort and organize links
  • Highlights made important information easier to identify.

The negatives:

  • In my experience many links that I was interested in reading rendered me to an obsolete page.
  • Tagging was inconsistent.
  • Many users had been inactive for such a long time that their material was outdated or irrelevant today
  • Highlights were distracting because it wasn’t the information I deemed important.
  • Libraries and group libraries contained duplicate links.

I am glad that I had the opportunity to be exposed to Diigo but I am satisfied with searching the internet for articles in my interest areas, reading them for what I deem important content, and creating my own bookmarks on my browser.

Not digging Diigo.

Comments
  1. […] Not digging Diigo……….. (fan4fitness.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

