Social Media Madness…………….

Posted: June 15, 2012 in Social Media

In the personal and business world today, the avenues to market and promote your brand or self are limitless.  Social media touches our lives daily, whether it is through news feeds, Facebook updates, interacting with our children, interacting with our children’s schools, interacting at work, you can’t avoid social media.  With that said, it is best to expose yourself to as many social media channels as you can to get a broad understanding of them, and be savvy enough to know the strengths and weaknesses of each social media and social media in general.

In completing my summer class in social media I engaged in the use of several social media channels that I would not have exposed myself to otherwise.  Using social media day in and day out during the class made me think about the world and how our society is evolving and how quickly things are changing.  Social media changes the way information is distributed and how quickly it is distributed.  Our world has become increasing accessible from the comfort of your home.  Our network of personal and business relationships is growing exponentially.  Social media is powerful, engaging, dynamic and quick.

Social media is also dangerous and should be respected.  Social media opens you up to exposing and compromising your identity.  Social media has resulted in lost careers, lost marriages, child predators, etc.  Social media appears to have no boundaries.  If you are uneducated in social media you can quickly endanger your brand or self.  Social media is also evolving, so continual education and awareness if necessary.   Parents should consider it as dangerous as driving, drugs and alcohol, but most think of it as harmless and don’t really understand the implications for their children.

The social media channels that I enjoyed the most during my class were Twitter, Pinterest and WordPress.  Twitter and Pinterest because it is really fast paced and happening “now”.  I found Twitter and Pinterest very relevant for my brand, with so much information available and being shared.  Twitter and Pinterest had new information daily/hourly.  In my brand I believe these two channel had and would have the most impact.  WordPress I found interesting because it gave my brand a personality and legitimacy.

Social media is changing our world; how we do business, how we interact, how we communicate, how we educate, are all evolving in the hands of social media.  Social media is a powerhouse when used appropriately.

Leave a comment